Saturday, May 15, 2010

It's almost TIME!!!!!

Do you smell World Cup in the air?!?!?

WOOO WOOO!!!!!!!!!!

I've waited 4 long years and
I
am
ready!
It's the ultimate football season!
I wish I were in Malaysia for this so I could watch the games with my family and friends, among crowds full of dedicated football fans! Last World Cup was in Germany 2006, and I was in M'sia loving it! Coffee shops, pubs, and street cafes stay open allll night with big screens showing the games, and hundreds of chairs filled with all eyes on the tvs! I LOVE IT! Hopped up on caffeine, we had games on at 2:00am with the time difference, and everyone was screaming and jumping. I was at Coffee Bean a lot! I liked going to the mamak stalls (street cafes) the most though. It's comfortable there. Where your uncles have known the owners for decades.
All in all
World Cup = so much fun.
Fifty times better than the Super bowl!
Being in the states, we have fans, but I don't think you can quite understand the excitement. It's EVERYWHERE. Walking down any street you can see like 15 screens showing the latest game, or a replay. It's intense. People in the US are asking me "whats the world cup? oh, it's like a soccer game?" Umm no. You see everyone representing their own countries or their favorite teams alike, it's like The international event that's fun and exciting and puts people across the world on the same wavelength. Eveywhere people are watching the same games, and checking in on the scores. Here in the states, people say they're rooting for team USA, and want a USA Bid for the next game. And I'm like, 30 seconds ago you just heard about the world cup for the first time. I think we need to respect the sport a little more, learn about the game a little more, and maybe recognize a few of our own players before we start barking orders for an American Bid on future World Cups.

No comments:

Post a Comment